

Alachua County Board of County Commissioners

Ken Cornell, *Chair*Marihelen Wheeler, *Vice Chair*Mary Alford
Charles S. Chestnut, IV
Anna Prizzia

Administration
Michele L. Lieberman
County Manager

August 24, 2021

Office of Governor Ron DeSantis State of Florida The Capitol 400 S. Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-0001

The Honorable Governor Ron DeSantis:

I am seeking your assistance with the appointment of County 911 Coordinators to the State of Florida E911 Board.

The Florida E911 Board consists of eleven (11) members, five (5) from the private communications service provider industry and five (5) from local government County 911 Coordinators. The 11th member is the Chair who is the Bureau Chief of Public Safety, Division of State Technology. Presently, all five 911 Coordinator positions on the E911 Board have either exceeded their appointment term, are no longer County Coordinator's or have retired. The County 911 Coordinator positions on the E911 Board as of this writing are:

- 1. Mrs. Laurence Anderson, term expired; wishes reappointment
- 2. Mrs. Carolyn Dill-Collier, appointment expired in 2017; no longer a County 911 Coordinator
- 3. Vacant
- 4. Vacant
- 5. Vacant

In May and June 2019, the President of the Florida 911 Coordinators Association began the process of acquiring nominations and voting for the E911 Board County Coordinators positions to be filled. Upon completion of the process, the nominees for appointment were sent to the Florida Association of Counties (FAC) in accordance with 365.172(5)(b) FS, which began communication with the Governor's Appointments Office.

In October of 2020, important planning and fiscal matters were considered and voted upon with little representation on the board from Florida County representatives. The E911 Boards primary function is to administer the funds derived from the monthly 911 fee. Fees are distributed to counties each month and the E911 Board also manages the 911 grant program. The grant program is reviewed and voted on by the E911 Board.

To date, numerous letters and emails have been sent reference filling the E911 Board positions with no results. The following is a history of those attempts:

December 3, 2019, Governor Ron DeSantis December 30, 2019, Governor Ron DeSantis January 16, 2020, Governors Appointments Office May 18, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis October 14, 2020, Governors Appointments Office November 18, 2020, Governors Appointments Office December 2, 2020, Governors Appointments Office January 27, 2021, Governors Appointments Office

In August of 2019, the following names were submitted to the FAC for appointment by the Governor:

At-Large County representative Ms. Christine Cooper, ENP Okaloosa County 911 Coordinator Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office 90 College Blvd East Niceville, FL 32578 850-689-5606 ccooper@sheriff-okaloosa.org	At-Large County representative Ms. Laurene (Laurie) Anderson, ENP Charlotte County 911 Coordinator Charlotte County Sheriff's Office 7474 Utilities Road Punta Gorda, FL 33982 941-575-5339 landerson@ccsofl.net
Large County representative Mr. Chuck Spalding Palm Beach County 911 Coordinator 20 S Military Trail West Palm Beach, FL 33415 561-712-6339 cspalding@pbcgov.org	Medium County representative Mr. Jarrod Shupe Flagler County 911 Coordinator Flagler County Board of County Commissioners 1769 E. Moody Blvd, Bldg #3 Bunnell, FL 32110 386-313-4281 jshupe@flaglercounty.org
Rural County representative Mr. Daniel Carroll Walton County 911 Coordinator Walton County Sheriff's Office 752 Triple G Road DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433 850-951-4954 dcarroll@waltonso.org	

The five Florida E911 Coordinators are a vital component of the eleven-member E911 Board and key to the appropriate disbursement of 911 fee revenues and management of the State 911 grant program.

Sincerely,

Ken Cornell, Chair Alachua County Commission Chr20.XX

KC/KG/kg

cc: Board of County Commissioners

Michele L. Lieberman, County Manager

Sylvia Torres, County Attorney