Wednesday, August 18, 2021 – 5:00 P.M. John R. "Jack" Durrance Auditorium County Administration Building 12 Southeast First Street Gainesville, Florida

The Alachua County Board of County Commissioners met for Emergency Meeting.

PRESENT: Chair Ken Cornell; Vice Chair Marihelen Wheeler, Commissioner Mary Alford,

and Commissioner Anna Prizzia

ALSO PRESENT: Assistant County Manager Carl Smart, County Attorney Sylvia Torres,

and Deputy Clerk Steve Donahey

ABSENT: Commissioner Charles S. Chestnut IV

Approval of Agenda

Commissioner Alford moved to approve the agenda. Commissioner Wheeler 2nd Motion. The motion carried 4-0 with commissioner Chestnut absent.

Items for Discussion

1. COVID-19 Discussion and Possible community masking requirements that follow CDC Guidelines. 21-0793

Fiscal Consideration: N/A

Recommended Action: Have a discussion

Mr. Lawson CEO of North Florida Regional Medical Center, Dr. Derek Cummings professor of biology at the Emerging Pathogens Institute at the University of Florida, and Paul Myers Administrator of Alachua County Health Department all presented their updated data and professional opinion on COVID in Alachua County.

Chair Cornell, Commissioner Prizzia, Commissioner Alford, and Commissioner Wheeler presented comments.

Commissioner Prizzia moved approval of an Emergency Order requiring universal masking indoor in public with two or more people gathered (ages 2 and above) outside of private residence that are not within the same familial unit. The County recognizes familial units will likely not wear mask in a home and not require it in another setting as long as it is only the familial unit present. The County will recognize exemptions with ADA/medical basis. The local state of emergency will be extended and the County will have a civil citation process.

Commissioner Alford 2nd motion

Wednesday, August 18, 2021 - 5:00 P.M.

Health Department Director Myer, Chair Cornell, County Manager Lieberman, Assistant County Manager Smart, Commissioner Prizzia, Commissioner Alford, Commissioner Wheeler, Commissioner Prizzia, and Chair Cornell presented comments.

The motion carried 4-0 with Commissioner Chestnut absent.

Closing Comments:

Public Comment:

Chair Cornell recognized Mr. Hill, Pam Paris, Kali Blount, Debbie Martinez, Dr. Sarah Rockwell, Talesa Barsha, a citizen, David Kaplan, Lisa Green, Tina Days, Joan Frosh, Daniel Bloomberg, Janet Hunter, Tana Silva, Nancy Darren, La'Keshia Davis, Tommy Rogers, Darlene Tucker, Darlene Pifalo, Geraldine Puz, Cheryl Blank Zeichner, Kristen Thompson, Mary Lou, Nathan Skop, Frank Smola, Angelica Barnes, Tracy Emberbree, and Anthony Johnson all presented comments.

Commission Comment:

Commissioner Alford stated that the Asian Pacific Islander American Public Affairs Organization is organizing a national unity against hate movement across the United States. She would like the Board to consider the adoption of the Resolution at the next meeting.

There being no further business before the Board the meeting was adjourned at 7:57 P.M.