Tuesday, September 29 & October 6, 2020 – 5:00 P.M. John R. "Jack" Durrance Auditorium County Administration Building 12 Southeast First Street Gainesville, Florida

The Alachua County Board of County Commissioners met for the Special Meeting.

- **PRESENT:** Chair Robert "Hutch" Hutchinson; Vice Chair Mike Byerly, Commissioner Charles S. Chestnut IV, Commissioner Ken Cornell, and Commissioner Marihelen Wheeler
- ALSO PRESENT: Deputy County Manager Jim Harriot, Assistant County Attorney Corbin Hanson, Growth Management Director Missy Daniels, and Deputy Clerk Steve Donahey

Approval of Agenda

Items for Discussion

Commissioner Cornell moved adoption of the agenda as amended. The motion carried 4-0 with Commissioner Byerly out of the room.

 <u>ZOX-01-20: A request for a special exception to allow a solar array (major utility)</u> on approximately 650 acres in an Agricultural zoning district 20-0806
Fiscal Consideration: N/A
Recommended Action: Staff recommends that the Board approve the item and adopt Resolution Z-20-06 with the bases and conditions found in the staff report.

Deputy Clerk Donahey requested each Commissioner disclose any Ex-parte communications for the record.

All Commissioners disclosed their ex-parte communications.

Assistant County Attorney Corbin Hanson presented comments regarding those who have requested party status in this matter.

Commissioner Cornell moved approval of the following as parties in this matter: Gerie Crawford, Michelle Rutledge, Connie and Terry Lee, Rosa Rutledge, Myrtle Grahm, Betty Durdley, James H. McGee, Cynthia and Craig Wonders, Lee and December McSherry, Peggy Acosta Hood, Bobbie Harris, Sarah Beachboard, Terry Davoli, Lucius McSherry, Eddie and Nora Nattiel, Delores and Clyde Young, Bernice Crawford Cameron, and George and Carolyn Mells, and Amy Judah.

Public Comments via Telephone

Nathan Skop and Amy Judah presented comments.

The motion carried 5-0.

Senior Planner Gerald Brewington presented the County staff presentation.

Deputy Clerk Donahey swore in all members of the applicant team who wished to address the Board.

Applicant's Presentation

Agent for the Applicant Patrice Boyes, Esq. Laura Abram, Parikhit "Ricky" Sinha, Ph.D., Laura Abram, Robert J. Walpole, Laura Abram, and Rich Kirkland presented comments.

MEETING RECESSED AT:6:29 P.M.MEETING RECONVENED:6:34 P.M.

Dr. David Depew and Laura Abram presented comments.

Commissioner Wheeler stated that she has received information that there is a power outage in the City of Archer and is concerned it will effect citizens' ability to participate in the ZOOM meeting.

Duke Energy Representative Dorothy Pernu stated that there is a power outage in Archer. A team of lineman are in route to the scene but she will not have an estimate on the time to fix the issue until the crew is onsite to assess the situation.

Commissioner Hutchinson, Commissioner Wheeler, and Commissioner Byerly presented comments.

Chair Hutchinson stated that the meeting will be recessed until an estimate on the time to restore power is received from Duke Energy.

MEETING RECESSED AT:	6:44 P.M.
MEETING RECONVENED:	7:15 P.M.

Duke Energy Representative Dorothy Pernu stated that the crew has not been able to determine the underlying cause of the power outage at this time. She stated that Duke Energy would not object to continuing the meeting so that all may participate in the Public Hearing and apologized for the inconvenience. Chair Hutchinson, and Dorothy Pernu presented comments.

Chair Hutchinson directed that the meeting be continued to Tuesday, October 6, 2020 at 5:00 P.M. He advised that the meeting maybe operating under different rules in a hybrid meeting due to the Governor's order.

Closing Comments

Public Comment

Nathan Skop, a citizen, a citizen, and Chair Hutchinson presented comments.

Commission Comment

Joint Meeting Agenda

Commissioner Cornell inquired if there were any changes to the Joint Meeting Agenda that the Board needed to be aware of.

County Manager Lieberman stated that the UF update will be a time certain item at 4:00 P.M. to accommodate the university staff.

Commissioner Wheeler stated that she will not be at the Joint Meeting. She is taking a trip before the election as she serves on the Election Canvasing Board.

MEETING RECESSED AT:7:28 P.M. on September 29, 2020MEETING RECONVENED:5:00 P.M. on October 6, 2020

- **PRESENT:** Chair Robert "Hutch" Hutchinson; Vice Chair Mike Byerly, Commissioner Charles S. Chestnut IV, Commissioner Ken Cornell, and Commissioner Marihelen Wheeler
- ALSO PRESENT: Deputy County Manager Jim Harriot, Assistant County Attorney Corbin Hanson, Growth Management Director Missy Daniels, and Deputy Clerk Steve Donahey

Commissioner Cornell, Commissioner Wheeler, and Chair Hutchinson disclosed exparte communications.

Deputy Clerk Donahey swore in all parties who wished to address the Board.

Parties Presentation

Terrell Arline, Esq., Gerie Crawford, Charles McGee, Lee McSherry, Charles McGee, Lee McSherry, Terrell Arline, Esq., Connie Lee, Michelle Rutledge, Gerie Crawford Lee McSherry, Gerie Crawford, Terrell Arline, Esq. questioning of Gerie Crawford, Sherry DuPree, Dr. Tamara Warner, Dr. Sacoby Wilson, Terrell Arline, Esq., Betty Durdley, Amy Judah, Peggy Hood, Rosa Rutledge, and Nora Nattiel presented comments.

COMMISSIONER RECESSED: 6:52 P.M. COMMISSIONER RECONVED: 7:10 P.M.

Commissioner Cornell, Commissioner Wheeler, and Commissioner Chestnut presented comments.

COMMISSION RECESSED AT: 8:57 P.M. COMMISSION RECONVENED: 9:03 P.M.

Questions of Applicant

Patrice Boyes, Esq., Parikhit "Ricky" Sinha, Ph.D., Patrice Boyes, Esq., Robert Walpole, Laura Abram, Commissioner Byerly, Commissioner Wheeler, David Depew, Commissioner Chestnut, Brent Handley, Laura Abram, Commissioner Cornell, Parikhit "Ricky" Sinha, Ph.D., Robert Depew, Walpole, Parikhit "Ricky" Sinha, Ph.D., Walpole, Brent Handley, Richard Kirkland, Depew, Parikhit "Ricky" Sinha, Ph.D., Laura Abram, Patrice Boyes, Esq., Commissioner Byerly, Chair Hutchinson, and Robert Walpole presented comments.

Questions of staff

Commissioner Byerly, Gerald Brewington, Senior Environmental Planner Michael Drummond, Assistant County Attorney Corbin Hanson, Commissioner Cornell, Transportation Planning Manager Jeff Hays, Commissioner Chestnut, Commissioner Wheeler, Chair Hutchinson, Lawrence Curtin, and Terrell Arline, Esq. presented comments.

COMMISSION RECESSED AT: 10:55 P.M. COMMISSION RECONVENED: 11:01 P.M.

Transportation Planning Manager Jeff Hays and Commissioner Byerly presented comments.

Commissioner Byerly moved that the Board approve the item and adopt Resolution Z-20-06 with the bases and conditions found in the staff report. The motion failed for lack of a second.

Commissioner Chestnut moved to deny the petition ZOX-01-20. 2nd Wheeler

Commissioner Chestnut, Commissioner Wheeler, and Commissioner Cornell presented comments.

Public Comments

Helen Warren, Debra Foote, Evelyn Fox, a citizen, Kathleen Pagan, Nigel Rudolph, Nathan Skop, Dr. Myer, Eric Godet, Cynthia Wonders, and Jonathan Varol presented comments.

Commissioner Cornell moved to extend the meeting to 12:30 A.M. The motion carried 5-0.

Tina Certain, Ben Campen, December McSherry, Michele Rutledge, Bill Lewandowski, Jacqui Sulek, Diane McNealy, Ms. Lawson, Amy Judah, and George and Carl Mells presented comments.

Commissioner Cornell presented comments.

The motion carried 3-2 with Commissioners Byerly and Hutchinson voting "Nay".

Alternate Appointment to the Canvassing Board

Chair Hutchinson advised that the Board needs to appoint a Commissioner to serve as the Alternate on the Canvassing Board.

Commissioner Cornell moved appointment of Commissioner Byerly as the Alternate. The motion carried 5-0.

There being no further business before the Board the meeting was adjourned at 12:18 P.M.