

Alachua County, FL

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	20-0141	Version:	2	Name:	
Туре:	Action Items	-11:30 AM		Status:	Agenda Ready
File created:	2/4/2020			In control:	Board of County Commissioners
On agenda:	2/11/2020			Final action:	
Title:	Charter Review Commission - filling vacancy				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					
Code sections:					
Attachments:	1. CRC Tallysheet.pdf, 2. Confirmed CRC Applications.pdf, 3. Unconfirmed CRC Applications.pdf				
Date	Ver. Action By		Actio	on Result	

Agenda Item Name:

Charter Review Commission - filling vacancy

Presenter:

Sylvia Torres, County Attorney

Description:

Fill the vacancy on the Charter Review Commission

Recommended Action:

Appoint one member to the Charter Review Commission

Prior Board Motions:

February 2, 2020 - the Board voted to fill the vacancy from the original pool of applicants for the Charter Review Commission appointments.

September 10, 2019 -

Commissioner Byerly moved to appoint Doug Bernal, Kali Blount, Scott Camil, Eric Drummond, James Little, Erroll Stanley Richardson, James Thompson, Penny Wheat, Kristen Young and Tamara Robbins to The Charter Review Commission.

The motion carried 5-0.

Clerk Irby called on each Commissioner for their one nomination to the Charter Review Commission.

Clerk Irby called on each Commissioners one nomination between Theresa Beachy and Pradeep Kumar.

Commissioner Hutchinson moved to appoint Pradeep Kumar to The Charter Review

Commission.

The motion carried 5-0.

February 19, 2019 -

Commissioner Byerly moved the following: ...

3. The makeup of the Charter Review Commission will be 12 members with no alternate with an open application process voted on by the Board as a whole with the normal Advisory Board process.

The motion carried 4-0.

Fiscal Consideration:

None

Background:

The 2020 Alachua County Charter Review Commission has one vacancy due to a resignation which was effective January 31, 2020. Section 4.2.(B)(1) of the Alachua County Charter reads in pertinent part: "Vacancies shall be filled within thirty (30) days in the same manner as the original appointments." The original appointments were done through a self-nominating, open application process where the applications were voted-on by the Board as a whole. There were 33 in the original pool of applicants, out of which 12 were selected. On February 2, 2020, the Board voted to fill the vacancy from the original pool of candidates. Staff has followed up with the applicants who were not selected to determine which of them is still interested in serving on the Charter Review Commission. Due to lead time for the publishing of this agenda, the list of interested applicants will not be published with the agenda but will be given to the Board at the meeting.

The applicants who are still in the pool are:

- Mary Catherine Alford
- Victoria A. Arthington
- Theresa Beachy
- Walt Leon Boyer
- William Wesley Connellan
- Sterling W. Davenport
- Matthew Fiore
- Joy Glanzer
- Maxwell Grimm
- Armando R. Grundy-Gomes
- Anthony C. Johnson
- Nicholas Klein
- Eva Olysha Magruder
- Nelson L. Mathis
- David W. Moritz
- Jessica E. Mroszinske
- April O'Neal
- William Wesley Radunovich
- Christopher Henry Rose II

- Scott T. Schmidt
- Patrick Sell