

Alachua County, FL

12 SE 1st Street Gainesville, Florida

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-0879 Version: 2 Name:

Type: Action Items -11:30 AM Status: Agenda Ready

File created: 9/29/2020 In control: Board of County Commissioners

On agenda: 10/13/2020 Final action:

Title: Appointment of Three Positions to the Alachua County Local Planning Agency/Planning Commissions

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. April O'Neal.pdf, 2. Braxton Linton III.pdf, 3. Carla Brisotto.pdf, 4. Charles McGee.pdf, 5. Dewayne

Baines.pdf, 6. Ishmael Rentz.pdf, 7. James Ingle.pdf, 8. Joe Saucier.pdf, 9. Michael Hill.pdf, 10. Tim

Rockwell.pdf, 11. Attendance Report.pdf, 12. Tallysheet.pdf, 13.

ARTICLE III. PLANNING COMMISSION.pdf

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

Agenda Item Name:

Appointment of Three Positions to the Alachua County Local Planning Agency/Planning Commissions

Presenter:

Missy Daniels

Description:

Three members of the LPA/Planning Commission have terms that expired in July. They continue to serve. This agenda item is to consider ten (10) applicants for appointment to those three (3) positions.

Recommended Action:

Appoint three members to the LPA/Planning Commission.

Prior Board Motions:

N/A

Fiscal Consideration:

N/A

Background:

The Local Planning Association (LPA)/Planning Commission has three positions that became available at the end of July. The three members whose terms expired continue to serve.

The LPA/Planning Commission is responsible for making recommendations to the County Commission for updates to the comprehensive plan; reviewing and making recommendations on

File #: 20-0879, Version: 2

rezonings, special use permits, and special exceptions, and on land development regulations upon the request of the Board of County Commissioners.

The LPA/Planning Commission is comprised of eight at-large members serving 4-year terms. The meet typically once a month usually on the third Wednesday at 6:00 PM in the County Administration Building (12 S.E. 1st Street, downtown Gainesville).

There are a total of ten (10) applicants for the three positions. Seven (7) new applicants: April O'Neal, Dewayne Baines, Braxton Linton III, Michael Hill, Carla Brissotto, Charles McGee, and Joe Saucier and three (3) currently serving members: Tim Rockwell (2nd term), Ishmael Rentz (1st term), James Ingle (1st term).