

# Alachua County, FL

12 SE 1st Street Gainesville, Florida

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-0136 Version: 1 Name:

**Type:** Advisory Board Items **Status:** Agenda Ready

File created: 2/9/2021 In control: Board of County Commissioners

On agenda: 4/13/2021 Final action:

Title: Appoint Two Applicants to the Alachua County Tourist Development Council

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. BoCC April 13 TDC Tally Sheet.pdf, 2. Brad Carman app.pdf, 3. Brian Avery app.pdf, 4. Diane

Bendekovic app.pdf, 5. Joshua Mazur app.pdf, 6. Robert Todd app.pdf, 7. Staci Bertrand.pdf, 8.

Stephanie Bailes app.pdf, 9. Travis Parker app.pdf

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

## Agenda Item Name:

Appoint Two Applicants to the Alachua County Tourist Development Council

#### Presenter:

Jessica Hurov, (352) 374-5260

#### **Description:**

Appoint Two Applicants to the Alachua County Tourist Development Council (TDC) for terms ending May 2025

#### **Recommended Action:**

Appoint two applicants to the Tourist Development Council

#### **Prior Board Motions:**

N/A

#### **Fiscal Consideration:**

N/A

### **Background:**

There are two open positions on the Tourist Development Council that must be filled by persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development.

As authorized by 125.0104, Florida Statutes, the council shall be established by ordinance and composed of nine members who shall be appointed by the governing board.

The composition of the Tourist Development Council board is as follows:

#### File #: 21-0136, Version: 1

- The chair of the governing board of the county or any other member of the governing board as
  designated by the chair shall serve on the council.
- Two members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, at least one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in the county or subcounty special taxing district in which the tax is levied.
- Six members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who
  have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which members, not less than three
  nor more than four shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks,
  or other tourist accommodations in the county and subject to the tax. All members of the
  council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council serve for staggered terms
  of 4 years.