

Alachua County, FL

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-0809 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Action Items -11:30 AM Status: Agenda Ready

File created: 8/24/2021 In control: Board of County Commissioners

On agenda: 9/28/2021 Final action:

Title: Appointment of Two Positions to the Alachua County Local Planning Agency/Planning Commission

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Attendance Report for September 15 2021 PC Meeting.pdf, 2. James Fulton.pdf, 3. Michael Hill.pdf,

4. Raymond Walsh.pdf, 5. Trista Brophy-Duron.pdf, 6. Tallysheet.pdf

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

Agenda Item Name:

Appointment of Two Positions to the Alachua County Local Planning Agency/Planning Commission

Presenter:

Jeff Hays, 374-5249

Description:

One member of the LPA/Planning Commission has a term that expired in July. Another member has resigned with a term ending 7/31/24. This agenda item is to consider four applicants for appointment to two positions, one full position ending 7/31/25 and one to the partial term ending 7/31/24.

Recommended Action:

Appoint two members to the LPA/Planning Commission one to full term ending 7/31/25 and one to a partial term ending 7/31/24.

Prior Board Motions:

N/A

Fiscal Consideration:

N/A

Background:

The Local Planning Association (LPA)/Planning Commission has two positions that became available at the end of July and in September. The member whose term expired continues to serve.

The LPA/Planning Commission is responsible for making recommendations to the County Commission for updates to the comprehensive plan; reviewing and making recommendations on rezonings, special use permits, and special exceptions, and on land development regulations upon the request of the Board of County Commissioners.

File #: 21-0809, Version: 1

The LPA/Planning Commission is comprised of eight at-large members serving 4-year terms. They meet typically once a month usually on the third Wednesday at 6:00 PM in the County Administration Building (12 S.E. 1st Street, downtown Gainesville).

There are a total of four applicants for the two positions. The member whose term expired has not reapplied. All of the applicants, Trista Brophy-Duron, Michael Hill, Raymond Walsh and James Fulton, would be newly serving. The terms would expire 7/31/24 and 7/31/2025.