

Alachua County, FL

12 SE 1st Street Gainesville, Florida

Legislation Text

File #: 20-1055, Version: 1

Agenda Item Name:

Approve the appointment of an Elected Municipal Official to the Alachua County Tourist Development Council

Presenter:

Jessica Hurov (352) 374-5260

Description:

Approve Appointment of an Elected Municipal Official to the Alachua County Tourist Development Council (TDC) for a term ending December 2024

Recommended Action:

Appoint High Springs City Commissioner Ross Ambrose to the Alachua County Tourist Development Council to serve as an "Elected Municipal Official" Member for a term ending December 2024.

Prior Board Motions:

N/A

Fiscal Consideration:

N/A

Background:

There is an open position on the Tourist Development Council that must be filled by an Elected Municipal Official. All Alachua County municipalities were contacted to request elected officials apply and there were no other applicants for the Elected Municipal Official position vacancy.

As authorized by 125.0104, Florida Statutes, the council shall be established by ordinance and composed of nine members who shall be appointed by the governing board.

The composition of the Tourist Development Council board is as follows:

The chair of the governing board of the county or any other member of the governing board as designated by the chair shall serve on the council.

Two members of the council shall be elected municipal officials, at least one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in the county or subcounty special taxing district in which the tax is levied.

Six members of the council shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which members, not less than three nor more

File #: 20-1055, Version: 1

than four shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the county and subject to the tax. All members of the council shall be electors of the county. The members of the council serve for staggered terms of 4 years.